EU initiates procedure on non-binding list of 15 countries for entry from July 1.

Ukraine is reportedly not on the list.



The Council of the European Union has initiated a written procedure on a non-binding list of 15 countries whose citizens will be allowed entry into from July 1.

"The written procedure on the non-binding list of 15 countries whose nationals can travel to the EU as of 1 July ha[s] finally been initiated by the council," Europe Editor for Radio Free Europe / Radio Liberty (RFE/RL) Rikard Jozwiak said on Twitter on June 29, according to the Ukrainian-registered European Pravda media outlet.

All details of the decision are not yet known, however, according to the reporter's sources, the approved list has 15 countries, including Georgia, Serbia, and Montenegro.

The written procedure is used when there is a sufficient number of votes for the wording of a decision, and circumstances require its approval as soon as possible, without waiting for a formal meeting.

Read alsoEU puts 15 countries on 'green' list for entry after re-opening its borders

As UNIAN reported earlier, European Union states have agreed an updated draft list of 15 countries that will be allowed to enter the EU when the borders are re-opened from July 1. Ukraine is not on the updated list, but it was not included in the "red" list either.

Earlier, Euronews reported that the full list of countries whose nationals will be allowed to enter Europe according to the approved draft is as follows: Algeria, Australia, Canada, Georgia, Japan, Montenegro, Morocco, New Zealand, Rwanda, Serbia, South Korea, Thailand, Tunisia, Uruguay, and China (the latter is subject to confirmation of reciprocity). Brazil, the United States, and Russia are not on the approved list.

Related news

Windsor-Essex is one of Canada’s worst coronavirus hotspots.

The region is home to an increasing number of new cases — the vast majority among migrant workers in agricultural settings.

Pain, heartache continue as families of those killed on downed Ukrainian plane wait for answers.

'I don't feel this pain is healing at all. I feel, in the last six months, it has deepened in this anger and this sadness,'

Mike Pompeo Urges «Free And Fair» Hong Kong Vote After China Warning.

US Secretary of State Mike Pompeo on Tuesday urged free elections in Hong Kong after China said pro-democracy parties' primaries may have breached a tough new security law.

No Vaccine, No Carnival, Warn Rio's Samba Schools Amid Coronavirus Crisis.

Some of Rio's biggest samba schools say they will not participate in next year's Carnival unless a coronavirus vaccine is widely available, Brazilian media reported Tuesday.

Jeffrey Epstein's Girlfriend Denies Charges Of Sex Trafficking In US.

British socialite Ghislaine Maxwell pleaded not guilty in a New York court Tuesday to sex trafficking minors for her former partner, the late financier Jeffrey Epstein.

By continuing to browse World News (UAZMI), you acknowledge that you have read the Terms of Use and agree to the use of cookies