Why the first US cowboys were black

Historians estimate that one in four cowboys were African American, though you’d never guess because the conventional Hollywood image of a cowboy is a white man. Black cowboys have been written out of history, along with the original cattle-raising Native Americans and Mexican vaqueros who taught them. So what are the real origins of cowboy culture in the US? And is there more to modern black cowboy culture than Old Town Road and Lil Nas X? Josh Toussaint-Strauss talks to some of the Black riders who are keeping the history of Black cowboy culture alive

Brianna's Mulatto Meadows ► www.mulattomeadows.com/humble
Larry's Black Cowboy Museum ► www.blackcowboymuseum.org/
Randy's Compton Cowboys ► www.comptoncowboys.com/

Subscribe to The Guardian on YouTube ► is.gd/subscribeguardian

Support the Guardian ► support.theguardian.com/contribute

Today in Focus podcast ► www.theguardian.com/news/series/todayinfocus

Sign up for the Guardian documentaries newsletter ► www.theguardian.com/info/2016/sep/02/sign-up-for-the-guardian-documentaries-update

The Guardian ► www.theguardian.com

The Guardian YouTube network:

Guardian News ► is.gd/guardianwires
Owen Jones talks ► bit.ly/subsowenjones
Guardian Football ► is.gd/guardianfootball
Guardian Sport ► bit.ly/GDNsport
Guardian Culture ► is.gd/guardianculture

Further reading:

For the Compton Cowboys, Horseback Riding Is a Legacy, and Protection ► www.nytimes.com/2018/03/31/us/compton-cowboys-horseback-riding-african-americans.html

Evoking History, Black Cowboys Take to the Streets ► www.nytimes.com/2020/06/09/us/black-cowboys-protests-compton.html

The Compton Cowboys: The New Generation of Cowboys in America's Urban Heartland www.harpercollins.com/products/the-compton-cowboys-walter-thompson-hernandez?variant=32231860535330

Where have all the black cowboys gone? ► www.theguardian.com/film/2020/mar/11/where-have-all-the-black-cowboys-gone

Black ranching frontiers ► yalebooks.yale.edu/book/9780300179927/black-ranching-frontiers

Black cowboys: Creole trail rides showcase unique culture ► www.theguardian.com/global/2018/sep/21/creole-cowboys-calvert-texas-louisiana

The black cowboys of Mississippi ► www.theguardian.com/artanddesign/gallery/2019/feb/15/the-black-cowboys-of-mississippi-in-pictures

www.dazeddigital.com/politics/article/49615/1/black-cowboys-black-lives-matter-protests-compton-united-states

The lesser known history of African American cowboys ► www.smithsonianmag.com/history/lesser-known-history-african-american-cowboys-180962144/

www.bbc.co.uk/news/magazine-21768669

Watch video on channel "The Guardian"
From naked protests to challenging Museveni: Uganda’s 'rudest feminist' on the campaign trail.

From naked protests to challenging Museveni: Uganda’s 'rudest feminist' on the campaign trail.

Stella Nyanzi is Uganda's most outspoken, self-described radical queer feminist. She has been imprisoned for her activism and is known for her attention-grabbing naked protests and poetry. In an election campaign that has become increasingly viole...

3 187

Feeding India's protesting farmers: 'Modi's policies are doing nothing for the poor'.

Feeding India's protesting farmers: 'Modi's policies are doing nothing for the poor'.

Pushpinder Pal is one of tens of thousands of Indian farmers camped along nine miles (15km) of major roads outside Delhi, protesting about agricultural laws they claim will devastate their earnings. Based in Haryana, he collects food every day fro...

Lupita: the indigenous activist leading a new generation of Mexican women.

Lupita: the indigenous activist leading a new generation of Mexican women.

In a country where indigenous people are increasingly displaced and journalists are killed at an alarming rate, a courageous new voice has emerged: Lupita, a Tzotzil-Maya woman​ ​at the forefront of a Mexican indigenous movement. Twenty years afte...

The healthy nurse who died at 40 on the Covid frontline: 'She was the best mom I ever had'.

The healthy nurse who died at 40 on the Covid frontline: 'She was the best mom I ever had'.

Yolanda Coar was 40 when she died of Covid-19 in August this year in Augusta, Georgia. She was also a nurse manager, and one of nearly 3,000 frontline workers who have died in the US fighting this virus, according to an exclusive investigation by ...

Wuhan a year after Covid struck: 'Everyone wants to reset 2020'.

Wuhan a year after Covid struck: 'Everyone wants to reset 2020'.

Wang Fan is a young craft beer brewer in Wuhan. When his city became the first in the world to enter lockdown, he volunteered to help support other residents, and documented the sudden and strict pandemic rules over that harsh winter. One year lat...